Back to Right to Know
Right to Know Hazardous Substance List

Pursuant to the New Jersey  Worker and Community RTK Act, the NJDOH is required to develop the Right to Know Hazardous Substance List (RTKHSL). The RTKHSL contains over 2,000 hazardous substances, including those on the Special Health Hazard Substance List (SHHSL). The SHHSL consists of over 1,000 hazardous substances that are defined as carcinogens, mutagens, teratogens, corrosive, flammables, and reactives.

The RTKHSL identifies the following for each chemical: the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) number, common name, chemical name including synonym(s), RTK substance number, the US Department of Transportation number, and the source(s) from which the hazardous substance was obtained.

On August, 2, 2010, a Notice of Administrative Changes Modifying the Right to Know Hazardous Substance List and Special Health Hazard Substance List, and a Notice of the Administrative Changes Updating Sources, was published in the New Jersey Register at 42 N.J.R. 1709(a) [pdf 25k]. These changes are effective immediately.

This document describes view all the changes made to the 2007 Right to Know Hazardous Substance List.

Have a question or can't find what you're looking for? Send us an e-mail or call the RTK Infoline at (609) 984-2202.